Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

...

  1. Mark as unsubscribed: will mark all contacts you upload here as "unsubscribed". These contacts will become inactive and the platform will automatically stop sending to them.
  2. Mark as hard-bounced: will set the status of all contacts you upload here to hard-bounced. These contacts will become inactive and the platform will automatically stop sending to them.
  3. Mark as complained: will set the status of all contacts you upload here to complained. These contacts will become inactive and the platform will automatically stop sending to them.
  4. Remove permanently: will completely and permanently remove contacts from this list, which also serves for GDPR compliance.
  5. Resubscribe (AKA reactivate): will resubscribe/reactivate contacts that are unsubscribed ,as well as reactivate contacts that are hard-bounced or complained.
    1. (warning) Note regarding reactivating hard-bounced: This will not not reactivate any hard bounces that also is registered on the outbound ESP or SMTP vendor itself.
      Some ESP/SMTP vendors keep their own list of hard-bounces, but some SMTPs like Amazon SES and On-Premise don't.
    2. (warning) Note about reactivating unsubscribes: If you're using Ongage with either a cloud SMTP vendor or on-premise SMTP, you can easily resubscribe unsubscribed contacts, as this information resides typically only in Ongage. On the other-hand if you're using Ongage with an ESP that enforces its own unsubscribe link, in that case the unsubscribe info also resides on the ESP, and you will need to resubscribe it there as well!
Warning

(warning) It is recommended not to remove delete these members (unsubscribed, hard bounced and complaints) from your list. If you do so, you will lose their history and worse, they may get added to your list again and be active!! If contacts are in your list with an inactive status then adding / importing or updating (via import or API), does not change their inactive status! But if you remove them and their history along with their status, then when you import / add them again, they will be active!

(warning) If in your operations a contact can register multiple times, we recommend setting up your own sign_up date field in your Ongage list.